Absenteeism

When I first arrived here, it was a place for me to leave my daily drawings that I’d decided to do. I wanted to feel obliged to create a drawing a day, since I felt I wasn’t making nearly enough art. It lasted a few weeks. I’d get out my sketchbook at lunchtime every day and try to let the creativity flow. It went pretty well for a while, until I ran out of pages in my lovely little sketchbook. I thought I had another one that was exactly the same, but after so many days of searching I’ve resigned to its loss. Perhaps it never existed in the first place.

I planned to buy a new sketchbook – one with the same hard black cover and miniature size that I found so useful. Meanwhile, I dappled in collage:

excuse_sm

 and I got my paints and pencils back out, covering the living room floor with a generous scattering of sketchbooks. I also did a lot of thinking about just what I want to get out of this blog. I felt more comfortable drawing at home, two or three or more projects going at once, than I felt doing small exercises when my brain sometimes felt pretty stale.

I think the fact that I have been absent for a while has actually helped this space, and in the coming days I’ll be posting the work I’ve done since I’ve been gone. Until then, here are a few:

30-05-09

sp1_sm

2 responses to “Absenteeism

  1. Jemia’s back! yay! 🙂

  2. cute collage 🙂 I’ve been meaning to e-mail you for so long… sigh… finding the right time to sit down and send e-mails in conjunction with my actually REMEMBERING to send e-mails is quite the feat these days 😛 Sorry about that, I’ll write soon. Your pictures are gorgeous as always!

Leave a Reply

