Makeover

As you may notice if you’ve visited my blog previously, it’s gone through a bit of a change in the past couple of days. I chose a new visual format which allows me more space for banner design, but is still pretty simple. With my last theme, I had some trouble designing my headers in such a small space. I wanted them to be more bold and noticeable, which was achieved neither by the size (teensy) nor the location (hinged to the very top of the page). I didn’t have fun with it. At first, I looked at it as a challenge, and though challenges are welcome, there’s also something to be said for allowing myself a certain amount of freedom on my own art blog! Then, browsing around artist pages, I found this colorful and fun art blog: http://blogdelanine.blogspot.com, and that was kind of the last straw for me. Look at that banner! All that elbow room… I wanted that. (Also, click around that blog. I love her work.) I’m much happier with this header format and will stick with this one for a while.

I’ve also decided to connect this blog more with my Etsy shop, since I’ll be posting more often about the creation process of my paintings which I sell. So I’ve changed the name from ‘The Canvas’ to ‘Jem’s Imajes Art Blog’ to keep the branding parallel (however, my URL remains the same, so no need to change your bookmark).

This blog started as a way to get myself drawing and painting more regularly again, and I am so happy to say, it has fulfilled its expectations quite nicely. Its new job is to support my shop and the ideas and processes behind my work, and I’m excited to see where it takes me next.

Leave a Reply

