Mathematics Today: From a Folded Ornament to the Concept of 100

I’ve been fascinated with origami from a young age, and when I found these instructions for a folded paper flower ornament, I knew I had to try it. So while my sister and I folded and cut paper snowflakes one evening for some festive decorations, we also started cutting and folding the paper for this lovely creation. It took much longer than expected, so over the next several days I finished folding and assembling. When I finally finished, it looked like this:

origami ornament flowers ball

origami ornament flowers ball

Try it! Someday I’m going to make a great big one.

In other news, I’m working on more blog posts (still!)- for my Sketchbook Project sketchbook, a collage, and an owl painting. Stay tuned for those. Also, I’ve got an art opening to attend tomorrow evening at Lucy’s Art Emporium (poster by Lucy’s Art Emporium):

Flora Fauna Lucy's Art Emporium Dover NH Bird

If you’re in the Dover, NH area, check out the show! Lucy’s is a great little shop filled with handmade gifts. On the poster above, you can see one of the six paintings I have on display there. I loved painting all the layers of texture and deep golden hues into the bird’s belly and throat. That splash of color along with the bird’s smile makes me imagine that he’s about to burst into song.

Lastly, I’m still working on my Life List. I’m up to 39 of 100. I like to call that almost halfway finished (however, I don’t think I will feel that way when I reach the age of 39). Of course, since it is my own list, I don’t necessarily have to get to 100 to call it done, but I really like the sound, feel and…. concept of 100.

7 responses to “Mathematics Today: From a Folded Ornament to the Concept of 100

  1. Love the colors of the decoration! Hope the opening of the art show went well!

    • I really like the way it turned out! Saffron had a pack of pastel paper, and I thought those colors went well together. I can imagine it would look so nice in a single color, too, even white. Itching to do another one, but I will save it for another time when I don’t have so many other projects in mind! The art opening went great too :-).

  2. Your painting is beautiful. I hope you sell all six of your paintings. And the origami is very nice as well.

  3. Pingback: Cut and Paste Cardinal | Jem's Imajes Art Blog

  4. Pingback: Life List | Jem's Imajes Art Blog

  5. Pingback: origami flower ball ornaments | askervani.com

Leave a Reply

