Orchids II

For my second batch of orchid photographs (see the first here), I have chosen two pinks – hot pink, and a more purple, muted pink. I love the way this first one looks like a blossom explosion. It’s as if, a second ago, these all could have been tiny buds, then you blink, and POW! they’ve blossomed. They look like they have only just stopped moving. They also look they like are whistling.

hot pink orchid flower photograph

At the orchid show I experimented with taking photographs at more unusual angles, as in this next one:

orchid pink purple photograph

I like how this angle highlights the little spiraling tendrils on each flower.¬† The leaves in the background provide a contrast to highlight the delicate, precise shape of each flower. In addition to these photographs of orchids, I’ve been taking shots of new spring flowers, which I’ll be sharing on my Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

